Daily Current Affairs for UPSC


Syllabus- International Relations [GS Paper-2]

Context- Recently, there have been suspicions about the intervention of ECOWAS (Economic Community of West African States) in Niger after a military coup in the country.

Key Highlights 

  • Nigeria’s military in West Africa named General Abdourahmane Tchiani as head of state after the ouster of President Mohamed Bazoumi. 
  • The regional bloc ECOWAS gave Niger’s coup leaders a week to return power to Bazumi or face the consequences.  
  • ECOWAS previously intervened in The Gambia to restore democracy.  

What is ECOWAS?  

  • It is a regional group established by the Lagos Agreement in 1975, whose mission is to promote the economic integration of its members. 
  • ECOWAS has 15 members: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Ivory Coast, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Nigeria, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Senegal and Togo. 
  • Headquarters: Abuja, Nigeria. Administration: In 2007, the Secretariat of ECOWAS  was transformed into a Commission. 
  • The Commission is led by the President assisted by the Vice President, thirteen Commissioners and the Auditor General of ECOWAS Institutions.  
  • ECOWAS is working towards a common common currency and one major trade group in the fields of industry, transport, telecommunications, energy, finance and social and cultural issues. 
  • Vision: To create a well-integrated borderless region. 
  • “ECOWAS is meant to be a region governed by the principles of democracy, rule of law and good governance.” 
  • Other Tasks: In addition to its economic cooperation goals, ECOWAS sought to suppress military conflicts in the region. 
  • ECOWAS has also previously conducted a regional peacekeeping operation in Liberia and Sierra Leone.
image_pdfDownload as PDF
Alt Text Alt Text

    Image Description

    Related Articles

    Back to top button
    Shopping cart0
    There are no products in the cart!