<u>Sahitya Akademi Awards 2019</u> <u>Announced</u>

written by iasexam.com | 19/12/2019



Recently, the India's National Academy of Letters announced the Sahitya Akademi Awards for 2019. The announcement included the names of 25 writers including Congress MP Shashi Tharoor as the winners of these awards. As per the official press release, Seven books of poetry, four novels, six short stories, three non-fiction books and three essays have won the award this year.

Writer and Congress MP Shashi Tharoor was named among the winners for Sahitya Akademi Awards. He won the prestigious literature award for his novel 'An Era of Darkness' in the creative non-fiction category in English literature. The novel which was published in 2016 describes British rule in India.

Tharoor was joined by Madhusoodanan Nair, who won the award for 'Achan Piranna Veedu' in the Malayalam poetry category. Another renowned name that was featured on the list of winners included Nand Kishore Acharya, who won the honour for his poetry collection 'Chilte hue apneko'.

Complete List of Winners

Language Title & Genre

Author Name

Assamese Chanakya (Novel) Bengali Ghumer Darja Thele (Essays) Bodo Akhai Athumniphrai (Poetry)

Joysree Goswami Mahanta Chinmoy Guha Phukan Ch. Basumatary

Dogri	Bandralta Darpan (Essays)	Om Sharma Jandriari
English	An Era of Darkness (Non-Fiction)	Shashi Tharoor
Gujarati	Mojma Revu Re (Essays)	Ratilal Borisagar
Hindi	Chheelate Hue Apne Ko (Potery)	Nand Kishore Acharya
Kannada	Kudi Esaru (Autobiography)	Vijaya
Kashmiri	Akh Yaad Akh Qayamat (Short Stories)	Abdul AhadHajini
Konkani	The Words (Potery)	Nilba A Khandekar
Maithili	Jingik Oriaon Kariat (Poetry)	Kumar Manish Arvind
Malayalam	Achan Piranna Veedu (Poetry)	V Madhusoodanan Nair
Manipuri	EiAmadi Adungeigi Eethat (Novel)	L Birmangol Singh (Beryl Thanga)
Odia	Bhaswati (Short Stories)	Tarun Kanti Mishra
Punjabi	Antheen (Short Stories)	Kirpal Kazak
Rajasthani	BareekBaat (Short Stories)	Ramswaroop Kisan
Sanskrit	Prajnachakshusham (Poetry)	Penna Madhusudan
Santali	Sisirkali (Short Stories)	Kali Charan Hembram
Sindhi	Jeejal (Short Stories)	Ishwar Moorjani
Tamil	Sool (Novel)	Cho Dharman
Telugu	Septabhoomi (Novel)	Bandi Narayana Swamy
Urdu	Sawaneh-E-Sir Syed: Ek Bazadeed (Biography)	Shafey Kidwai

About Sahitya Akademi Awards

- Sahitya Akademi Awards is one of the highest literary awards in the country.
- The Awards are instituted by Sahitya Akademi– India's National Academy of Letters, to commemorate the exemplary works of literary merit published in any of the major Indian languages i.e. 24 languages of which 22 are listed in the Eighth Schedule of the Indian Constitution, along with English and Rajasthani.
- The Sahitya Akademi Award carries an engraved copper plaque, shawl and Rs 1 lakh, which will be presented to the winners on January 25, 2020 during the Festival of Letters organised by the Akademi.