Daily News Analysis

Opposition parties give notice of no-confidence against RS Deputy Chairman

Twelve opposition parties gave notice for a no-confidence motion against Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Harivansh, accusing him of violating the parliamentary procedures in trying to pass the farm sector Bills in haste, circumventing all demands for proper voting.

The no-confidence resolution has been signed by MPs from the Congress, Trinamool Congress, DMK, RJD, TRS, NCP, AAP, CPI, CPI (M), JD (S), IUML and Kerala Congress (Mani).

Key Highlights

  • Mr. Harivansh was re-elected for the second time to the post only six days back.

  • The Opposition parties condemned the Deputy Chairman for cutting short the speech by former Prime Minister Deve Gowda.

  • The Opposition also accused Mr. Harivansh of acting like a rubber stamp of the government.

  • Senior Congress leader Ahmed Patel said Rajya Sabha witnessed the murder of democracy in the way the two Agriculture Bills were passed.

  • DMK’s Tiruchi Siva said his repeated calls for division were completely ignored. “He had his head down looking at his papers. And no matter how many times I called out, he never looked. This is unacceptable,” Mr. Siva said.

  • Sources said Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu would be taking action against the Opposition MPs for unruly behaviour. However, Opposition members are unruffled.

  • AAP MP Sanjay Singh who stood up on the table in front of the Secretary General said, “Yes, I stood up on the table, I am owning it up, because what happened today in Rajya Sabha was far worse. All rules were ignored and the farmers have been thrown at the mercy of the big corporations by bending all possible rules.”


SOURCE: The Hindu

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button